Thing 10 Search Tools Ninja

Search Tool Ninja Thing 10
Best web site to teach stealthy Ninja like skills is from Queensborough Community College. It is a LibGuide simply named Google Fu

Teach Students to Search Like a Boss With These 5 Easy Google Advanced Search Tips
Kelly Walsh
I learned about site specific searching which my students will be using other than just going out to Google Land. Another new thing was searching file types

Key ideas
“Use Quotes” – Narrows topics This is also what we teach students how to search databases for more accurate information. Using advanced searching or Boolean searching in databases helps to limit: type of resources, time period, and keyword searching allows students to spend less time searching and more time reading the article they retrieved.
Site Specific – narrows searches to specific sites like gov, edu, org and if you put free in quotes it will come up with free stuff from that site (that’s cool)
File Types – this is especially useful when I know something I had seen before and want to find again because I did not bookmark it like a pdf or a image type.
Image Search- this is great especially when I use reverse image search to find an image
Google Advanced Search- This is very similar to the advance searching in databases. My students and teachers are learning about Google Scholar for specific credible information.

“Some secret strategies for serious searchers”
Joyce Valenza
October 29, 2017 By Joyce Valenza
School Library Journal

This article by Joyce Valenza was loaded with information some of it I have been using with my students but didn’t know it had a name to it. “Peripheral vision “ is simply using more search terms as you are looking for information. I tell my students when they come across a different search term to write it down because that is another way to find what they are looking for. It leads us to other places that we might not have looked for information. So I will put that term up on my wall of information locating. One other thing that I will share with my students again is the term chaining that Joyce describes as using the list of references that already exist on a document. Sometimes this is challenging for students because some of the citations are books and we do not have access to them. Over all this article really is a great reminder to be mindful of when we are searching.

One other resources for me about Google searching came from a local college Jamey Thompson professor at HVCC that willing shared his Technology Slides with me about Google Fu with me with permission to share it with others. He learned about LibGuides and found out about it at Queensborough Community College and this is the link to Google FU.
Google Fu is what I use with some of my students. Becoming a search tool ninja takes lots of practice including breaking some of our own bad habits…I will admit I when I want some quick information sometimes I actually type in a question.

Here is another site I have used. It has a tremendous amount of search techniques. Some are similar to what I have read about already but just wanted to share this. Advanced Google Searching

So I already started using site specific search while helping a colleague prepping for his students to research a career and locating 3 colleges that they could go to.
First I started site biology edu
Second try site biology undergraduate edu
Third try was site biology college edu
Hopefully from these pictures you can see the differences in search results


The Internet Way Back Machine is a fun place to just go and search and explore.

One response to “Thing 10 Search Tools Ninja

  1. Great tips! Thanks for sharing the Google Fu site.

Leave a comment